Petfinder Michigan dogs
Adoptable Dogs Adoptable Cats
Stray Hold Animals
Barry County Animal Shelter is dedicated to caring for and improving the quality of life for the animals of Barry County residents.
BCAS provides a variety of educational and animal disposition services including dog licensing, animal adoption and animal cremation services. Call BCAS at (269) 948-4885.
Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm
Saturday 9:00am - 12:00pm
OFFICE & KENNEL ARE CLOSED DAILY FROM 11:30am-12:30pm
Monday - Friday 9:00am - 4:30pm
Saturday 9:00am - 11:30am
Closed all Sundays and major holidays.
Michigan law requires all dogs 4 months of age be licensed. Licenses may be purchased in person during business hours. A copy of current rabies vaccination and spay/neuter certificate will be required to purchase a license for your dog.
Licenses are sold according to rabies vaccination date and a late fee of $10 is charged once your dog becomes 5 months of age or after the 30 day grace period has expired for a previously licensed dog.
The license fee for a Spayed/Neutered Dog License is $ 7.00 for 1 yr OR $18 for 3 yrs (must have corresponding rabies vax).
The fee for a regular (Intact) Dog License is $22.00 for 1 yr OR $60 for 3 yrs (must have corresponding rabies vax).
If you have lost your pet, please visit BCAS during kennel hours to look for your pet. Descriptions of animals vary from person to person; therefore we CANNOT assist with lost pets over the phone.
When visiting the shelter we recommend you bring along a photo of your pet and fill out a lost report. Strays are held for 7 days before being offered for public adoption. It is recommended you visit the department at least every 3rd day to look for your missing animal.
Place an ad in the Reminder, Banner and other local publications for your lost pet, and check the found notices in our local publications. Post flyers with photos of your missing pet along with your contact information at neighborhood grocery stores and gas stations.
People can describe an animal in so many different ways. DO NOT rely on shelter staff to make positive identification of your pet, only someone who knows the animal can do that. Keep visiting the shelter to look for your lost pet.REMEMBER, YOUR PET IS COUNTING ON YOU!
RECLAIMING YOUR ANIMAL: If your pet is in our department there is a $10 per day* boarding charge for the time your animal is in the department, and an impound fee where applicable. Please provide proof of ownership, a photo or vet records are good examples. Also note that a current rabies vaccination & a current dog license will be required prior to reclaimed dogs leaving the department. (*All fees are subject to change at any time.)